Hamumu Software Hamumu Software Hamumu Software
Name
Password Register
Latest Journal update: Oct 19, 2017
Old 07-22-2008, 04:13 AM   #1
Knittel
Crazy Dude
 
Knittel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: At a Dumb place
Posts: 1,177
Default Paint.NET Question

I have a Question about Paint.NET:
If I have a Point like this, with a red background.

Can I make another layer (black background for example) and change
the red color to transperant (spelled right?), without having then this:


It should look like that.


Thanks in advance
__________________
Frudelsoft Games

Last edited by Knittel; 07-22-2008 at 04:13 AM.
Knittel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 06:21 AM   #2
Julian
Is a ninja
 
Julian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: http://www.nationstates.net/dordinal
Posts: 3,077
Send a message via MSN to Julian
Default Re: Paint.NET Question

Yes, that should work. I'll go try it!
Julian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 06:23 AM   #3
Ryuinfinity
Banned
 
Ryuinfinity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Domefield Centre Mission: Defeat the Zirrons in Chyare Strait.
Posts: 1,045
Default Re: Paint.NET Question

No actually, there is no way to do that. Sorry. There is a plugin called Color to Alpha, however, which you may find useful.
Ryuinfinity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 06:39 AM   #4
Julian
Is a ninja
 
Julian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: http://www.nationstates.net/dordinal
Posts: 3,077
Send a message via MSN to Julian
Default Re: Paint.NET Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryuinfinity View Post
No actually, there is no way to do that. Sorry. There is a plugin called Color to Alpha, however, which you may find useful.
Actually, Magic Wand+delete key = color->transparent, but that doesn't work in this case, because of the red on the outside of the (gradient?). So, no, it doesn't work. Sorry. And also, he already knew how to get the red to transparent!

@Knittel: Try selecting the red with a low tolerence or a high tolerance. That should work.

Last edited by Julian; 07-22-2008 at 06:42 AM.
Julian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 06:52 AM   #5
Ryuinfinity
Banned
 
Ryuinfinity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Domefield Centre Mission: Defeat the Zirrons in Chyare Strait.
Posts: 1,045
Default Re: Paint.NET Question

Here's why it won't work: The red and the blue, though they seem to be two colours, are actually represented in the image as one, constantly changing colour, in various shades of purple. You can use various plugins to remove the RED CHANNEL, turning all the pixels into varying degrees of blueness fading to alpha 0, instead of varying degrees of blue fading to red. But Paint.NET currently contains no built in way to eliminate channels from an image.
Ryuinfinity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 07:03 AM   #6
Knittel
Crazy Dude
 
Knittel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: At a Dumb place
Posts: 1,177
Default Re: Paint.NET Question

I think I'll download this Plug-In. Thank you.
__________________
Frudelsoft Games
Knittel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Portable Paint Program REACTOR Total Mayhem 3 04-26-2015 06:00 PM
Paint.NET Tutorial: Space Explosions! Ryuinfinity General Blabber 8 07-17-2008 06:14 AM
stick cronickles game art made entirely by paint grim3vil Making Dumb Games 55 02-15-2007 10:09 PM
How do you put tiles made in Paint to SWC??? yourter12 Dr. Lunatic 1 07-04-2006 04:44 PM
Paint progs from pantsofpower Jamul Dr. Lunatic 0 08-18-2001 02:00 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Site Map
Copyright 2017, Hamumu Games Inc.