Hamumu Software Hamumu Software Hamumu Software
Name
Password Register
Latest Journal update: Oct 21, 2017
Old 01-12-2009, 02:40 PM   #1
Sillyman
Does not exist. Fnord.
 
Sillyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Nonexistent
Posts: 1,392
Default Vista

I have it on my laptop and it's actually not that bad... I mean, it's evil and not Linux, but it's remarkably stable for a Microsoft product. UAC doesn't bother me that much... basically all it's doing is making Administrators not root, but rather just sudoers and then using a kernel-level GKSU equivalent, so I'm used to that already. And the Program Files control thing... although that also kinda mirrors the way Linux does things, what with most nonsystem programs saving in /home rather than /bin.

So in essence, this whole UAC thing is just imitating Linux, and it works... although it is a bit kludgey to accommodate backwards-compatibility. Ah well.

As for the DRM stuff that badvista talks about... well I'll just have to put up with that lurking threat.
__________________
-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
Version: 3.12
GCS/M d- s: a--- C++ UL P L+++(+) E- W++ N o+ K? w O? M V? PS PE Y PGP- t+ 5? X? R>+ tv+ b+>++ DI+@ D(---) G e->++++ !h r? y?
------END GEEK CODE BLOCK------
Blaaaah.
Sillyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 02:53 PM   #2
AtkinsSJ
Legs sold separately.
Moderator
 
AtkinsSJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Computers!
Posts: 4,790
Default Re: Vista

I've found Vista OK too, the only annoyance being when it asks you repeatedly if you want to do something.

The Start-menu search is incredibly useful, too.
__________________
Caution: may contain traces of nuts
AtkinsSJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 04:34 PM   #3
Wesley
Walks on Lava, Drowns in Water
 
Wesley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,664
Default Re: Vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by AtkinsSJ View Post
I've found Vista OK too, the only annoyance being when it asks you repeatedly if you want to do something.

The Start-menu search is incredibly useful, too.
You can change the computer from asking you permission every single time you do something. I forgot where, but I'd guess It'd be somewhere in Security or the Control Panel... Search online if you can't find it. Vista is a lot less annoying after you do that.

Vista's actually not really that bad, compared to how others have said it is, at least in my eyes. It just takes a little while to adjust.
__________________
20:54:02 [Moltanem2000] Socrates was mortal, cats are mortal, thus socrates is a cat
20:54:12 [SpaceManiac] What sort of game would you want to play that has "Health and Welfare" as its topic
20:54:28 [Redbone] AN FPS PLS
Wesley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 04:20 PM   #4
AtkinsSJ
Legs sold separately.
Moderator
 
AtkinsSJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Computers!
Posts: 4,790
Default Re: Vista

Yeah, I know there's a way to switch it off, but from what I'd heard it switches other security stuff off as well.

Also, I think a lot of the problems with Vista were compatibility issues, which have been sorted out by now.
__________________
Caution: may contain traces of nuts
AtkinsSJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 05:21 PM   #5
minmay
Dumb Person
 
minmay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 128
Default Re: Vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by AtkinsSJ View Post
Also, I think a lot of the problems with Vista were compatibility issues, which have been sorted out by now.
They haven't. Trust me. Maybe some of them have, but about 40% of stuff still needs random adjustments to make it work, and another 20% of stuff still doesn't work at all.

I think one of the biggest problems, however, if not THE biggest problem, with Vista is the way it slows your computer to the speed of molasses. Even if you disable Aero (it looks awful anyway), you still have way, way more load than XP.

Windows 7 doesn't look any better, either. Personally I plan to continue using XP until Microsoft actually releases something better.

Last edited by minmay; 01-13-2009 at 05:21 PM.
minmay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 08:26 PM   #6
Ubernoob
Dumb Person
 
Ubernoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 759
Default Re: Vista

I was planning to upgrade to Vista because I can't get Media Centre to work with my current XP Media Centre edition. Some update seems to have broken Media Centre and I can't roll it back.
__________________
Ubernoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 08:47 PM   #7
.Blue Dwarf.
King of the Shrooms
 
.Blue Dwarf.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Saving the World, one pond at a time.
Posts: 1,443
Default Re: Vista

My friend has Vista and he says it isn't nearly as bad as people keep complaining about.


Unfortunatly he didn't go into detail on that, so I'm not really contributing to this conversation that much...
Sorry guys!
__________________
Eh. Have some smilies I guess.
.Blue Dwarf. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 12:03 PM   #8
yourter12
forever gone
 
yourter12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: octopus
Posts: 1,354
Default Re: Vista

Vista crashes alot. I have a Vista.
__________________
yourter12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 01:02 PM   #9
CyberSonic
is Awsum
 
CyberSonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The HamHam Fun Land
Posts: 168
Default Re: Vista

Its pretty neat, the start menu is very useful
__________________
CyberSonic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 01:08 PM   #10
Ubernoob
Dumb Person
 
Ubernoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 759
Default Re: Vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by yourter12 View Post
Vista crashes alot. I have a Vista.
How much RAM do you have? I hear Vista is a bit of a resource hog.
__________________
Ubernoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 10:26 AM   #11
AtkinsSJ
Legs sold separately.
Moderator
 
AtkinsSJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Computers!
Posts: 4,790
Default Re: Vista

I just had my first Vista BSoD. It makes me sad.
__________________
Caution: may contain traces of nuts
AtkinsSJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 11:17 AM   #12
bowserfan
 
bowserfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hungary
Posts: 783
Post Re: Vista

I'am Using It Right Now,And It's Isin't Bad.
__________________
Signature reserved for
"Mr Empty Space"
bowserfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 02:33 PM   #13
sonicchaos1993
Chaos sold separately.
Moderator
 
sonicchaos1993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Definately not behind you
Posts: 1,429
Default Re: Vista

I have it on my laptop and I hate it. It has terrible compatibility issues, so I'm mostly on my family's desktop computer so that I can actually run programs.
__________________

AGLA FL15 Pro Circuit Champion - Tank for Hybrid Theory (AGLA) - Captain/Hybrid for Zero Logic (GGL)
sonicchaos1993 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista USB/CD-ROM problems. Help me, please Wackodude General Blabber 2 10-04-2012 03:11 PM
Vista demo supersilver Total Mayhem 2 07-27-2008 01:22 AM
Vista Wars varkarrus Total Mayhem 1 04-30-2008 10:27 AM
Windows Vista Name Ducky Total Mayhem 7 03-31-2008 09:25 AM
Windows Vista Tamandt Dr. Lunatic 1 11-18-2006 09:49 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Site Map
Copyright 2017, Hamumu Games Inc.