Hamumu Software Hamumu Software Hamumu Software
Name
Password Register
Latest Journal update: Oct 23, 2017

Go Back   Hamumu Forum > Games > Dr. Lunatic

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-12-2011, 05:39 AM   #41
Boneheads
King of the Boneheads
 
Boneheads's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Utah, United States
Posts: 1,249
Default If you have Win7 HomePremium, and SWC Doesn't work READ THIS

Hey guys, I haven't posted on the forums in a while becuase, well, I had nothing to talk about. But now I do.

My brother was messing around with the Properties in Swick, and he got the colors to work!!
Step 1.
Right-click on lunatic.exe, And click "Properties".
2.
Click on "Compatibility".
3.
Check everything under "Settings" (Ex. "Run in 256 Colors", "Run in 640x480 Resolution", etc.)
4.
Make sure all your other hamumu Games' Properties are at Default settings. (It's really weird, BUT THATS WHAT NEEDS TO HAPPEN)
5.
Try running the game. If any colors are messed up, just post the problem in this Thread.
If it worked, Yay! Say it worked!!
__________________
Website

Last edited by Jamul; 05-12-2011 at 07:07 AM. Reason: don't
Boneheads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 04:18 PM   #42
Evangelizo
Less Puny Mortal
 
Evangelizo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 8
Default Re: SUPREME: Help! Win7 Graphical Glitches!

Slightly different problem here. I'm using Windows 7 on a brand-new computer, window mode looks great, colors are excellent, but the game is super slow and choppy. I've tried almost every possible combination on the compatibility menu, nothing works. Is this a lost cause?
__________________
The island. The island brought us here. This is no ordinary place, you've seen that, I know you have. But the island chose you, too, Jack. It's destiny.
Evangelizo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 02:24 PM   #43
szymon3543
Less Puny Mortal
 
szymon3543's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
Default Re: SUPREME: Help! Win7 Graphical Glitches!

I know you people have heared this many times, but none of the following solutions work. I have yet to try the one with compatibilty mode and the small screen, though. I also think pacman gave a script which the link is broken to. Another thing is that in one post by darkmanhades:
Quote:
1. Start -> Run -> Regedit
2. Go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\DirectDraw\C ompatibility
3. Make a new key called "lunatic" (I don't think it matters what you call it)
4. Add a new string value in that key called "Name". Make the string "lunatic.exe"
5. Add a binary value called "flags", insert the value "00 08 00 00"
6. Make a new DWORD Value called "ID", fill it with "42fcc9d8"
7. If you have a 64 bit system, go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\ DirectDraw\Compatibility\ and do the same as you did in the other location.
is very confusing. I managed to get to Step 4 without getting bewildered.
I'm not trying to criticize, though.

FIRST POST!
szymon3543 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 02:43 PM   #44
Redbone
She & her pronouns
 
Redbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Posts: 3,634
Default Re: SUPREME: Help! Win7 Graphical Glitches!

This post in the other thread should should work.
__________________
Redbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 02:50 PM   #45
szymon3543
Less Puny Mortal
 
szymon3543's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
Default Re: SUPREME: Help! Win7 Graphical Glitches!

I tried this, and it still doesn't work. I have installed the correct one. Does the game have to be in the "Program Files (x86)," or can it be run on a FlashDrive? And can I move the files from the FlashDrive to the Program Files?

EDIT: I am also considering TeamViewer, if anyone knows what that is. Probably at 7:00 PM in Chicago. (Forgot what Time-Zone)


Thanks for all the help!
I finally got it working. First, I had to download the Registry File for the game, x64-bit version. Next, I save the file onto the desktop, which I then move to the 'supreme' folder. I ran the Registry, disabled any "Compatability Settings" and it worked out fine. So, I'll guess I shall move the Registry thing-y to my FlashDrive. If I use it there, can I transport it to other computers without having to run it? Just asking.
__________________

Look! It's a YouTube channel!
szymon3543's YouTube Channel

Last edited by szymon3543; 11-12-2011 at 03:16 PM. Reason: Making a few corrections for proper Netiquette.
szymon3543 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 10:32 AM   #46
yourter12
forever gone
 
yourter12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: octopus
Posts: 1,354
Default Re: SUPREME: Help! Win7 Graphical Glitches!

Yeah, I'm having major problems with running this on my Alienware M14X. Even with Compatibility Mode on, parts of the screen still freezes every now and then. What should I do? (it's 64-bit btw)
__________________

Last edited by yourter12; 04-06-2012 at 10:34 AM.
yourter12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 12:59 PM   #47
Jamul
Marshmallow Head
The Boss
 
Jamul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hamumu HQ
Posts: 6,118
Default Re: SUPREME: Help! Win7 Graphical Glitches!

Someone just shared this with me: http://hifi.iki.fi/cnc-ddraw/#download

Apparently it works really well, with many of our games (and many other older games). You just download that ddraw.dll file, and stick it in the game's folder! I actually haven't tried it, but hey, it sounds like a nice solution if it works.
__________________
Jamul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 06:47 PM   #48
predcon
Corporate Hatchetman of DOOM!
 
predcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Network XXIII
Posts: 61
Default Re: SUPREME: Help! Win7 Graphical Glitches!

A better one would probably be to just download the new v8.0x version of SWC. On the other hand, this might be useful for stuff like Worms: Armageddon or Strange Adventures in Infinite Space. I know I'm having this problem with Sid Meier's Alpha Centauri, so I'll try it with that first.
__________________
predcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 12:45 AM   #49
cyberclone42
I'm not here.
 
cyberclone42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: no
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: SUPREME: Help! Win7 Graphical Glitches!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamul View Post
Someone just shared this with me: http://hifi.iki.fi/cnc-ddraw/#download

Apparently it works really well, with many of our games (and many other older games). You just download that ddraw.dll file, and stick it in the game's folder! I actually haven't tried it, but hey, it sounds like a nice solution if it works.
With Loonyland 2, it literally runs normally for 1/7 of a second then goes all funky.
DRL doesn't work on this computer. Not sure if Windows 7 or computer itself. I'll try out the ddraw with Sleepless Hollow, too.
__________________
cyberclone42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 09:39 AM   #50
Blackjack
Lover of Sweets
 
Blackjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Smile Re: SUPREME: Help! Win7 Graphical Glitches!

This has worked for me...

Make a .bat file called run, and in that put:

taskkill /F /IM Explorer.exe
lunatic.exe
Start explorer.exe

That should turn off your backgornud GUI and stuff while your playing and turn it straight back on. Put that file in the C:/Programe Files (x86)/Supreme/ folder (I think that you miss out the (x86) if you're on a 32 bit system) and make a shurtcut on your desktop.

That should work
Blackjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 12:36 PM   #51
Platinum Foil
Puny Mortal
 
Platinum Foil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1
Arrow Re: SUPREME: Help! Win7 Graphical Glitches!

I've tried all of these solutions, and the only one that actually worked was closing explorer and reopening it. But that got annoying after about the third time. So, I did some research.

A guy named NCrawler came up with a patch for a different game (Steel Panthers World at War), and I re-purposed his solution for Dr. Lunatic. Full credit goes to him. The solution is a little CMD file that shuts down explorer.exe, waits for it to close, launches lunatic.exe, and then relaunches explorer when you exit. No compatibility nonsense, no lag, perfect colors. It works like a dream. Just follow these steps:

1. Find the Dr. Lunatic install directory (where lunatic.exe is located).

2. Create a new text document in Notepad called "patch" (or something else, it's not really important).

3. Type the following (or copy and paste):

@echo off

taskkill /f /IM explorer.exe
lunatic.exe
Start explorer.exe


4. Save and exit notepad.

5. Rename the patch.txt file extension from .txt to .cmd.

6. Create a new shortcut to patch.cmd (or point your existing Dr. Lunatic shortcut from lunatic.exe to patch.cmd).

7. Launch the game with the new shortcut.

Feel free to copy and paste this into the first post, or whatever makes it easy for everyone. Enjoy!

P.S. A link to NCrawler's original file can be found here.

-PlatinumFoil
Platinum Foil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 09:41 PM   #52
Disco Duck
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: SUPREME: Help! Win7 Graphical Glitches!

The .bat file absolutely works for full screen! So far, the colors have not messed up once. I can now play in full screen.

However, I still can't play in windowed mode. I get the same problem mentioned above. No matter how many compatibility settings I try, how many dll fixes or anything, if I try to play in window mode, the graphics are so slow and choppy that it's un-playable. The only way it somewhat worked was in 256 color mode. The graphics were no longer choppy, but then the colors are back to being a little messed up. Is there any hope for window mode in Windows 7?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 11:44 AM   #53
TheGiuvineo
Puny Mortal
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
Default Re: SUPREME: Help! Win7 Graphical Glitches!

on Windows 8.1 e 8 the color is normal

Last edited by TheGiuvineo; 05-13-2014 at 11:44 AM.
TheGiuvineo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 05:21 PM   #54
REACTOR
Question the trends!
 
REACTOR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 1,162
Default Re: SUPREME: Help! Win7 Graphical Glitches!

Actually, it's very interesting. I tested it myself with Kid Mystic at full screen and also Spooky Castle, and there was no discolouration.
REACTOR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Graphical Issues with Intergalactic Exterminator LordSerathDarklands Our Other Games 1 02-11-2016 05:49 PM
Setting up VC++6 or VS6 on Win7? Pac-Man Making Dumb Games 6 07-11-2012 05:37 PM
Costume Party Glitches Redbone Costume Party 5 11-09-2008 09:39 PM
patch glitches??? grannycheese Loonyland 2 12-12-2006 11:55 AM
Glitches! Coolguy Dr. Lunatic 0 08-29-2006 05:24 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Site Map
Copyright 2017, Hamumu Games Inc.