Hamumu Software Hamumu Software Hamumu Software
Name
Password Register
Latest Journal update: Oct 19, 2017

Go Back   Hamumu Forum > Games > Dr. Lunatic

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-03-2010, 01:00 PM   #1
Pac-Man
Where's Sledge Hammer in Dr.L?
 
Pac-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 186
Default Fixed: Recoloring problem on Vista / 7 (and XP?)

Download this small zip and run the script. Accept the dialog windows with OK and Yes.

After that, DirectDraw, the software used to paint the game on your monitor, is now set to a specific compatibility mode (NOT accessible via the properties of the lunatic shortcut) preventing another application to mess up your game colors.

Please try it NOW. Without any other explorer killer scripts etc. This needs to get tested on several PCs. It works flawlessy on mine.

Btw, here is one for Loonyland 2 Collectors Edition: http://kartwiki.cwsurf.de/other/lunatic/ll2cecolor.zip
__________________


Last edited by Pac-Man; 08-07-2010 at 10:00 AM.
Pac-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 11:13 AM   #2
MichaelCook
Medium Mortal
 
MichaelCook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ashland, Ohio
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to MichaelCook
Default Re: Fixed: Recoloring problem on Vista / 7 (and XP?)

Oh my gosh! Thank you so much! I was unable to play Supreme for the longest time because of windows 7 and this fixed everything I recommend it be patched in somehow.
__________________

Last edited by Jamul; 08-15-2010 at 11:52 AM. Reason: language
MichaelCook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 09:50 AM   #3
Pac-Man
Where's Sledge Hammer in Dr.L?
 
Pac-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 186
Default Re: Fixed: Recoloring problem on Vista / 7 (and XP?)

Well the setup of Lunatic could add this registry entry automatically.
__________________

Pac-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2010, 01:26 AM   #4
thetroll2
Medium Mortal
 
thetroll2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 28
Default Re: Fixed: Recoloring problem on Vista / 7 (and XP?)

Would using an older Windows ,like Windows 98, help?
thetroll2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 11:23 AM   #5
Pac-Man
Where's Sledge Hammer in Dr.L?
 
Pac-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 186
Default Re: Fixed: Recoloring problem on Vista / 7 (and XP?)

Yes, but who wants to install an old OS just for one game?
Vista and 7 do cause the bug itself, and some software on XP causes it too.
__________________


Last edited by Pac-Man; 09-20-2010 at 11:23 AM.
Pac-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 12:16 PM   #6
DiNo29
Puny Mortal
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1
Default Re: Fixed: Recoloring problem on Vista / 7 (and XP?)

Doesn't work for me. :/
I applied the reg to my registry and the colors are still the same buggy ones.
I tried to reboot but it still didn't change.
Any idea why ?
I'm on windows 7 Pro.
DiNo29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 12:43 PM   #7
Jamul
Marshmallow Head
The Boss
 
Jamul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hamumu HQ
Posts: 6,118
Default Re: Fixed: Recoloring problem on Vista / 7 (and XP?)

Check out the thread I just stickied in this forum (Help! Graphical Glitches!) for a bunch of other solutions. Something will work for you!
__________________
Jamul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 04:00 PM   #8
scratch799
Puny Mortal
 
scratch799's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1
Default Re: Fixed: Recoloring problem on Vista / 7 (and XP?)

So how would a version of this work for Sleepless Hollow?
Would I just change "lunatic.exe" to "sleepless.exe" or would there be more to it?
scratch799 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 04:08 PM   #9
barbh
Puny Mortal
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Default Re: Fixed: Recoloring problem on Vista / 7 (and XP?)

The script links are dead, I have used all of the suggestions and still having graphic issues with Windows 7. Would it help to buy and download again? I have had the game for a few years. Thanks

Last edited by barbh; 02-21-2011 at 04:15 PM. Reason: got sidetracked when clicking buttons
barbh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 04:28 PM   #10
Jamul
Marshmallow Head
The Boss
 
Jamul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hamumu HQ
Posts: 6,118
Default Re: Fixed: Recoloring problem on Vista / 7 (and XP?)

Make sure you check this thread: http://hamumu.com/forum/showthread.php?t=20042 for more ideas. You shouldn't actually need the fancy script to make it go.
__________________
Jamul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2011, 11:18 PM   #11
Devon Rose
Dumb Person
 
Devon Rose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 208
Default Re: Fixed: Recoloring problem on Vista / 7 (and XP?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pac-Man View Post
Yes, but who wants to install an old OS just for one game?
Vista and 7 do cause the bug itself, and some software on XP causes it too.
I actually have a special windows 98 computer to run older games, an XP computer, and, a windows 7 computer.
There's a LOT of games that only like DOS and windows 9x (emulators are, in most cases, are incapable for emulating certain hardware such as different soundcards or GPUs).

However, installing windows 98 on a modern machine is virtually impossible these days as windows 98 can only support so much RAM, and, it won't recognize any new hardware without drivers (and no one to my knowledge makes windows 98 drivers anymore: plus, DOS games require ISA soundcards). And as a final bullet, windows 98 will not recognize C2D, core i7s, or anything like that. You can get it to run on a Pentium 4, however.

The palette just loses focus that's all, there's various ways to prevent this (age of empires II you needed to do this if I recall in win7). Or, Jamul can just reprogram the whole engine in 32-bit and re-render all of the models KIDDING!
I actually like the 256 palette, it gives hamumu games a unique charm.
Devon Rose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 05:27 AM   #12
Elia1995
Dumb Person
 
Elia1995's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Behind a monitor, somewhere in Italy
Posts: 73
Send a message via MSN to Elia1995
Default Re: Fixed: Recoloring problem on Vista / 7 (and XP?)

the link on first post is broken, please reupload it I need it
__________________
Elia1995 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 02:00 PM   #13
yourter12
forever gone
 
yourter12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: octopus
Posts: 1,354
Default Re: Fixed: Recoloring problem on Vista / 7 (and XP?)

My game isn't working, as it is laggy when I put it on compatibility mode and a part of the screen freezes?

What should I do?

By the way, that stuff Pacman linked to isn't working
__________________

Last edited by yourter12; 08-10-2011 at 04:38 PM.
yourter12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 03:43 PM   #14
lol07080
Hamumian
 
lol07080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 19
Default Re: Fixed: Recoloring problem on Vista / 7 (and XP?)

Links are broken fix please
__________________
lol07080 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 03:23 PM   #15
OurEminentDoomsayer
Inanimate Carbon Rod
 
OurEminentDoomsayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 101
Default Re: Fixed: Recoloring problem on Vista / 7 (and XP?)

I found a program on the internet called DXWnd (Google it). As far as I can tell, it works, but I may instead just be horribly mistaken. I dunno, you guys try it.

EDIT: And by it works, I mean it LOOKS fullscreen and has no crazy colors.

Last edited by OurEminentDoomsayer; 09-15-2011 at 05:55 PM. Reason: typo
OurEminentDoomsayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 02:28 PM   #16
Disco Duck
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: DXWnd

Well DXWnd works for me so far. Full screen and normal colors, and I haven't seen the colors go weird during gameplay. Hope this works for most people!
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 12:16 PM   #17
darkguyhades
The Fourth Seal
 
darkguyhades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Inside the Hollow Earth
Posts: 709
Send a message via ICQ to darkguyhades Send a message via AIM to darkguyhades Send a message via Yahoo to darkguyhades
Default Re: DXWnd

Alright, I found a way to fix this on what appears to be every system, but it takes a little work.

1. Start -> Run -> Regedit
2. Go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\DirectDraw\C ompatibility
3. Make a new key called "lunatic" (I don't think it matters what you call it)
4. Add a new string value in that key called "Name". Make the string "lunatic.exe"
5. Add a binary value called "flags", insert the value "00 08 00 00"
6. Make a new DWORD Value called "ID", fill it with "42fcc9d8"
7. If you have a 64 bit system, go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\ DirectDraw\Compatibility\ and do the same as you did in the other location.

I'm not 100% sure this will work on any system, you might have to get the PID for Supreme if it isn't the same on every computer. If that's the case, you can use Process Hacker/Explorer while Supreme is open to check it, and just convert the decimal to hex. Put that value in ID rather than 42fcc9d8.

This should also work with other Hamumu games, but you have to replace the obvious fields (Key Name, Name string, and ID, specifically).

Here's the site I got this from, not sure if the website entirely Hamumu appropriate, but that page page is, so if you don't click on anything it's safe.
__________________
darkguyhades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 08:31 PM   #18
predcon
Corporate Hatchetman of DOOM!
 
predcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Network XXIII
Posts: 61
Default Re: DXWnd

That registry edit seems to work better than any of the shortcut Compatibility solutions (the colours would still go all wonky after ten minutes or so, but I think that's because my screen saver was trying to activate). I haven't played long enough to be certain it's going to work 100% of the time, but since I can run the game from an unmodified shortcut, things look good.
__________________
predcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2011, 01:20 PM   #19
yourter12
forever gone
 
yourter12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: octopus
Posts: 1,354
Default Re: DXWnd

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkguyhades View Post
Alright, I found a way to fix this on what appears to be every system, but it takes a little work.

1. Start -> Run -> Regedit
2. Go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\DirectDraw\C ompatibility
3. Make a new key called "lunatic" (I don't think it matters what you call it)
4. Add a new string value in that key called "Name". Make the string "lunatic.exe"
5. Add a binary value called "flags", insert the value "00 08 00 00"
6. Make a new DWORD Value called "ID", fill it with "42fcc9d8"
7. If you have a 64 bit system, go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\ DirectDraw\Compatibility\ and do the same as you did in the other location.

I'm not 100% sure this will work on any system, you might have to get the PID for Supreme if it isn't the same on every computer. If that's the case, you can use Process Hacker/Explorer while Supreme is open to check it, and just convert the decimal to hex. Put that value in ID rather than 42fcc9d8.

This should also work with other Hamumu games, but you have to replace the obvious fields (Key Name, Name string, and ID, specifically).

Here's the site I got this from, not sure if the website entirely Hamumu appropriate, but that page page is, so if you don't click on anything it's safe.
I tried this, and it didn't work. Could someone please upload a video on how to do this please?
__________________
yourter12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2011, 07:34 PM   #20
Davedude
The Master of Toast!
 
Davedude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 257
Default Re: Fixed: Recoloring problem on Vista / 7 (and XP?)

Because explorer is what causes the errors, a bat file that kills explorer and reopens it on exit works nicely for making the games look nice.

All you need to do it make a bat file (or download this one that has been made for SWC already: http://www.mediafire.com/?0yymjkt6b30mdvc) that says:

taskkill /F /IM Explorer.exe
(name of hamumu exe).exe
Start explorer.exe

And put it in the folder with the exe (ex: C:\Program Files\Supreme)

Last edited by Davedude; 10-15-2011 at 07:35 PM.
Davedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista Problem SOLVED! sonicchaos1993 Dr. Lunatic 12 08-16-2009 12:48 PM
Vista Sillyman General Blabber 12 01-20-2009 02:33 PM
Recoloring Tiles BaronTaco Dr. Lunatic 16 06-11-2008 03:05 PM
Chat Mafia Poll! (Fixed) *read post first* Kerma Total Mayhem 14 05-19-2008 09:33 AM
Computer Fixed! TyTBone Total Mayhem 3 04-19-2008 04:13 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Site Map
Copyright 2017, Hamumu Games Inc.