Hamumu Software Hamumu Software Hamumu Software
Name
Password Register
Latest Journal update: Oct 18, 2017

Go Back   Hamumu Forum > Games > Dr. Lunatic

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2006, 10:48 AM   #1
joel96
Puny Mortal
 
joel96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: near Louisville, KY
Posts: 2
Default DDRAW.DLL error and Loonyland error

I messed up most of my computer's drivers a couple of days ago. Before this, whenever I would click on the DR. L icon, it would open up. But now, when I click on it, I get this message: "The DDRAW.DLL could not start. Check the file to determine the problem." This is assuredly a problem with my computer, and not the game, but I'd like to know what is causing this, and what I can do to fix it.

The second problem is that when I try to open up Loonyland, I get this message: "Loonyland.EXE has caused an error in Loonyland.EXE. Loonyland.EXE will now close. " After this, my monitor goes to 640X480 resolution, and changes to 256 colors. Again, it's probably a glitch with my computer, not the game, but I'd like to fix it.
joel96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2006, 07:02 PM   #2
blackmyth
eats people.
 
blackmyth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: gm_construct
Posts: 1,655
Default

You probably have to reformat. :?
__________________
No bueno.
"You've fallen into my fiendish trap of standing there waiting for you to just blurt it out for no reason." -Jamul
blackmyth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2006, 07:25 PM   #3
Hammered
Nailed It!
 
Hammered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Beyond the next event horizon
Posts: 4,252
Default

Ddraw is a directx file. You might try reloading directx - it's easier than redoing your whole system.

If that doesn't fix the Loonyland error too, you might want to try reinstalling Loonyland.

Either way, post your results here. If it doesn't work, maybe someone else will have an idea.
__________________
Hammered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 08:02 AM   #4
Jamul
Marshmallow Head
The Boss
 
Jamul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hamumu HQ
Posts: 6,118
Default

Reinstalling directX is likely to help, but if it doesn't, you probably need to reinstall your video drivers. You can get good instructions on this at http://hamumu.com/opengl.php .
__________________
Jamul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 06:16 PM   #5
lilbit
Dumb Person
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: usa
Posts: 176
Default

Oh wow. I'm excited here. My computer shows an error box when I shut it down. It says DDL initialization failed. Also says something about ddl.win. something or other but goes by too fast to read. Where could I get something to fix this, please? *fingers crossed*
__________________
Growing old is mandatory...Growing up is optional

lilbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 06:30 PM   #6
Hammered
Nailed It!
 
Hammered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Beyond the next event horizon
Posts: 4,252
Default

I'm not familiar with that one, but the really bad news is that neither has Google, and I've heard that they know everything. Anyway, you might try holding your finger over the print screen button, even if you can't read it, maybe you can catch it that way, if you try, and can give us the exact text of the message.
__________________
Hammered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 07:05 PM   #7
lilbit
Dumb Person
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: usa
Posts: 176
Default

I tried that, didn't work. Will keep trying to read the message. Thanks Hammered. Darn that Google!
__________________
Growing old is mandatory...Growing up is optional

lilbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 08:49 PM   #8
lilbit
Dumb Person
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: usa
Posts: 176
Default

Well the most I could get beside what is in above post is an error message that says dwwin.exe. This seems to be the main error message.

Another box that pops up continually upon shut down is this:
Ending Program: Status Client.exe
It says I can wait or cancel but if I cancel I might lose information.

One time only (out of fifteen-twenty shut downs) , a very fast different box popped up that said 'hpstra' something or other. May be my hewlitt packard office jet?

I really hate this computer. No-one in this town has ever fixed it right.
I've been fortunate tho; had some really good ones before this.
__________________
Growing old is mandatory...Growing up is optional

lilbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD error Ninja of Frozen Milk General Blabber 6 08-18-2009 11:17 AM
T.A.G. Error writerstix General Blabber 3 10-13-2008 12:02 PM
A big error! ALLEN2 Loonyland 6 08-06-2008 07:36 PM
False Error? souperzombie Total Mayhem 3 04-30-2008 10:33 AM
graphic error hugblue Dr. Lunatic 2 08-11-2004 04:29 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Site Map
Copyright 2017, Hamumu Games Inc.